The BRICS STI Framework Programme 2022-2025 supports research in the priority areas which can best be addressed by a multinational approach. This programme is a collaborative scientific enterprise, drawing on the strengths of all five BRICS partners. The goal of the program is the development of astronomical instruments and associated intelligent data networks according to the mission of the BRICS Astronomy Working Group.

The BRICS Programme focuses on two key areas: 1) the scientific advance, within the BRICS partners, of the rapidly expanding domain of wide-field multi-wavelength imaging sky surveys and the detection and study of transient and time-variable phenomena in the Universe, and 2) technical solutions to the associated enormous Big Data and Big Compute challenges arising from modern worldwide networks of transient detectors and imaging surveys by leading global projects, in which many BRICS countries are actively involved.

The mini workshop aims to bring together research groups from Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa to discuss results of their study within the framework of three projects: Multi-messenger Astronomy League for BRICS (MALBRICS),  Constraining the Nature of Multi-messenger Transients with Coordinated Multi-wavelength Observations (CoNMuTraMO), and Search and Follow-up Studies of Time-domain Astronomical Sources using Sky Surveys, BRICS Telescopes, and Artificial Intelligence (SAPTARISI). We invite the BRICS colleagues to make presentations on the following topics:

  • MM and MW transient astronomical events 
  • Deep Survey science 
  • Modeling
  • Machine learning, artificial intelligence, statistical methods


The workshop will be organized online via Zoom, the link will be circulated by email to registered participants.

One or two 15-20 min reports from each team are welcome.



  • Buckley David (SAAO/UCT/UFS, South Africa)
  • Barres de Almeida Ulisses (Brazilian Center for Research in Physics, Brazil)
  • Gupta Nayantara (Raman Research Institute, India)
  • Joshi Santosh (Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences, India)
  • Malkov Oleg (Institute of Astronomy RAS, Russia)
  • Misra Kuntal (Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences, India)
  • Pozanenko Alexey (Space Research Institute, Russia)
  • Razzaque Soebur (University of Johannesburg, South Africa)
  • Soria Roberto (NAOC Chenzhou, China)
  • Sotnikova Yulia (Special Astrophysical Observatory of RAS, Russia)
  • Tan Kefeng (National Astronomical Observatories, CAS, China)
  • Yang Lili (Sun Yat-sen University, China),


  • Yulia Sotnikova
  • Valery Vlasyuk
  • Timur Mufakharov
  • Dmitry Kudryavtsev
  • Yulia Cherepkova
  • Yakovenko Andrey


Please, send the title and abstract of report and list of authors to the contact emails below:
Yulia Sotnikova,;
  Yulia Cherepkova,